Facebook Facebook instagram
Robert Hicks Bates Award Winners
AwardsHeader.jpgRobert Hicks Bates—a renowned explorer, alpinist, Peace Corp director and educator—accomplished numerous first ascents in Alaska and was a member of the American expeditions to K2 in 1938 and 1953. His literary contributions describing the K2 expeditions and his life of adventure in the mountains inspired young American climbers. He served the American Alpine Club in many capacities: member of the editorial board of the American Alpine Journal, Board member, President and Honorary President. Above all, he devoted his life to promoting the education and development of American youth through his years as a teacher at Phillips Exeter Academy, service with the Peace Corp, and other endeavors. To recognize his many contributions to American mountaineering and education of our nation's youth, the American Alpine Club established the "Robert Hicks Bates Award" for outstanding accomplishment by a young climber. It is to recognize a young climber who in the judgment of the selection committee has demonstrated exceptional skill and character in the climbing or mountaineering arts and has outstanding promise for future accomplishment.

  • Sasha DiGiulian Awarded: 2015
  • Madaleine Sorkin Awarded: 2014
  • Scott Bennett Awarded: 2013
  • Kyle Dempster Awarded: 2012
  • Hayden Kennedy Awarded: 2011
  • Alex Honnold Awarded: 2009
  • Dave Turner Awarded: 2008
  • Freddie Wilkinson Awarded: 2007
  • Colin Haley Awarded: 2006
  • David Graham Awarded: 2004
  • Josh Wharton Awarded: 2003
  • Brian McMahon Awarded: 2003
  • Jonathan Copp Awarded: 2000
  • Lisa Rands Awarded: 2000
  • Chris McNamara Awarded: 1999
  • Beth Rodden Awarded: 1998
  • Tommy Caldwell Awarded: 1998
  • Stephanie Davis Awarded: 1997
  • Jeff Hollenbaugh Awarded: 1997
  • Kathleen M. Brown Awarded: 1996
  • Chris Sharma Awarded: 1996