Facebook Facebook
AAC News

Rowell Award Deadline Extended · November 5, 2012

The deadline for the Rowell Award has been extended until December 1, 2012. The award will be presented at the 2013 AAC Annual Benefit Dinner in San Francisco, Saturday, Febuary 23. The winner of the Rowell Award last year was talented climber and artist, Cory Richards. Cory recently wrote to us about his acceptance of the Rowell Award on our blog Inclined.

Download the application or visit our grants page for more information on how you can nominate a candidate for the Rowell Award.

About the Rowell Award
The Rowell Award for the Art of Adventure honors that adventurer whose artistic passion illuminates the wild places of the world, and whose accomplishments significantly benefit both the environment and the peoples who inhabit these lands and regions. This $15,000 annual cash award was established by The Rowell Legacy Committee, composed of friends, business associates, and admirers of the late Barbara and Galen Rowell. The award will be presented to an individual selected by a panel of active and influential members of the outdoor adventure world. The American Alpine Club took over administration of the Award in 2011. 

Yosemite Climber Steward Program Takes Flight · November 2, 2012

The AAC is co-sponsoring a new conservation initiative in Yosemite: The Yosemite Climber Steward Program. The program was started to fuel the efforts of the two climbing rangers currently employed in Yosemite National Park and help them to manage, protect, and defend the park’s climbing resources. You can read a report from one of the stewards, John Connor, on Inclined.



« Previous Page