Facebook Facebook instagram

The following individuals received Mountaineering Fellowship Grants in 2006:

Alison Criscitello and Jessica Drees: Attempts on the three highest peaks in Ecuador: Chimborazo, Cotopaxi, and Cayambe.

Asa Firestone: First ascent in the Pucahirca Group.

Elena Mihaly and Jeremy Roop: Cirque of the Unclimbables.

Mark Thomas and Mike Buchanan: Will attempt a new route on Peak 11,300' and explore pure ice lines on the northwest shoulder of the Rooster Comb in the Alaska Range.

Tim Tormey: Will attempt to link both the North and South Howser Towers in a one-day push, in addition to several other objectives in the Bugaboos of Canada.

David Turner: Attempt several major objectives in South American ranges, including the southeast face of Jirishanca, south face of Huandoy Sur, Fitz Roy, and the east face of the Central Tower of Paine.

Jamie Laidlaw: Climb and ski the north face of Nuptse East and the Lhotse Couloir.

Jacob Hector: First ascent of Polar Sun Spire in the Sam Fjord on Baffin Island.

Aaron Thrasher and Adam Fruh: South face of Kichatna Spire.